Poetry corner: Path

It’s hot.
I have a neck wrap –
the kind that holds water and keeps you cool –
I soaked it overnight,
ready to come on a summer walk.
Left it in the sink.
Now it’s hot and I have no relief,
getting more uncomfortable, angrier
by the minute, each sweltering step.
Turn all obstacles into the path,
the Buddhists say,
and so I try –
Try to welcome this forgetting
as a chance to keep walking,
step after step,
not listening to the voice in my head –
“So stupid, so stupid”
but to the song of birds, each one different,
and quieter, more subtle,
the unperturbed rustle of insects.

Poetry & photography (c)2017 Michelle M. Welch

Author’s note: “Turn all obstacles into the path” is a variant on the Lojong slogan “When the world is filled with evil, transform all mishaps into the path of bodhi.”

