Stories from Refuge – 49 – “I want her to give back the memories she took from me.”

(c) Serjio74 | Dreamstime.com

Refuge: an underground city built to save people from an apocalyptic world. But how will its people save themselves? Read the stories in any order, or start with the introduction at part 1.

Reconciliation Council report A-54, statement by Julie Corzon
RY 100.9.8

The Civil Council has asked for my recommendation regarding the investigation of the Empath associated with report C-10. Analysis of the submitted records provides neither positive identification of the C-10 Empath nor conclusive evidence of the Empath’s supposed activities. Too many of the amnesia episodes reported in the subsequent victim statements could be interpreted as trauma or selective memory, and cannot be verified as the act of an Empath using negative projections to remove memories. Too many of the anonymous reports received by the recording team have been dismissed as pranks. In addition, the continued debate about the C-10 Empath has had a disruptive effect on the population of Refuge. My official recommendation is therefore to close the investigation.

This is not what I want to do. I want to find her and shake her until her own memories fall out. I would say I want her to give back the ones she took from me but I’m not the least bit optimistic that it’s possible.

I wonder if this is going to make it dangerous for Empaths in Refuge. The ones who worked for the old regime are already locked up, of course, but the younger generation, the ones who came on board after the Revolution – we’ve assumed that they’re safe because no one associates them with the old Psychological Council. Those headsets they wear now, too, that prevent them from projecting, should make them seem like they’re not a threat. But that’s not really how people think. They’re riled up about Empaths, they’re afraid they’ve had memories erased by an Empath, and it’s only a matter of time before they start acting out against any Empath they see, old or young, headset or no. I know I keep looking at Beatrice every time I go to the recorders’ office to collect statements and wondering if she’s been messing with my head. It doesn’t make any sense but that’s how it is.

©2017 Michelle M. Welch

<- Previous story: “I just told them I knew how to take away their memories.”

Next story: “We wanted to get arrested to prove we were really doing something.” ->

All stories

Support the stories

