Stories from Refuge – 43 – “Do you know what kind of rumors are going around out there?”

(c) Svedoliver | Dreamstime.com

(c) Svedoliver | Dreamstime.com

Refuge: an underground city built to save people from an apocalyptic world. But how will its people save themselves? Read the stories in any order, or start with the introduction at part 1.

Reconciliation Council report C-12, interview with Kent Nuwen, recorded by Mary 80C
Refuge Year 100.8.30

I don’t know why we’re doing this here. I could’ve just made an internal report to one of you, we didn’t need to be sitting here in the gallery with all these people watching and this Empath keying in everything I say. I don’t have anything to say on the record. I don’t have some sob story to tell about how awful life was for me and how bad Government was. This is the whole problem, that’s what I’m saying. You’re making this big show, here with your Council and your dialogues, and even when you shut the dialogues down you’re still getting people riled up. Do you know what kind of rumors are going around out there? Empaths erasing people’s memories? It’s public hysteria, that’s what it is. It’s time to shut down the Reconciliation Council for the public good.

You know what it’s like? It’s like the time when I was working down in Equipment and Maintenance West, a few years ago before they reassigned most of the people who worked for Government. As if I was more dangerous as a manager making sure the trash got out of Refuge, and it’s better to have me in an office cleaning dust out of computers. There was this rumor going around that someone was opening the hatch in Maint West, going out there and not just to move refuse. Running contraband, bringing down weapons, letting poisoned air in to kill everyone down here – they were saying all kinds of crazy things. It was everything I could do to keep my people from spreading those rumors but it didn’t do any good. People outside were talking, their friends and their families and their neighbors. It got out of control.

Then they started talking about spies coming in, Empaths reading people’s minds to figure out who was opening the hatch, or maybe PsyOp wasn’t sending in Empaths at all, maybe they’d recruited normal people to spy on each other, and we couldn’t trust anyone. That’s when it got ugly. People started fighting with their friends and their neighbors, and I couldn’t talk anyone out of it anymore. Then there was the riot, right there in Section 7, right under the hatch. Right in front of me. I watched six of my men and women get killed. That’s when…

That’s when…

You should just stop it, that’s all.

©2017 Michelle M. Welch

<- Previous story: “It was like I didn’t even want to think about you.”

Next story: “They must have made him forget.” ->

All stories

Support the stories

