Stories from Refuge – 42 – “It was like I didn’t even want to think about you.”

Refuge: an underground city built to save people from an apocalyptic world. But how will its people save themselves? Read the stories in any order, or start with the introduction at part 1.

Reconciliation Council report B-38, dialogue between H.S. and Julie Corzon, recorded by James 72A
RY 100.8.29

[Recorder’s note: Council was reluctant to hold another dialogue after the incident with D.S. openly lying. Discussion about whether current subject should be examined to determine truthfulness was eventually rejected. Subject requested dialogue with Corzon specifically.]

[Subject begins.]

Do you remember me? I forgot you for a little while. One day I woke up and suddenly you were there in my head, like I’d misplaced you or something. I know it was a long time ago, we were teenagers then, but still, I’m surprised I forgot you like that.

It was weird, though. As soon as I thought of you I had this awful feeling, like I was choking, like I was going to be sick. I don’t know why. It’s not like we fought, or that things ended badly between us. It’s not even that I was ashamed or embarrassed. Sure, my dad wasn’t happy when he learned I liked girls but mom talked him down. She said at least I wouldn’t get in trouble for having too many babies, and she said didn’t Empaths go around sometimes and make people gay to control the population? And I’ve dated women since then anyway and I never felt sick about it. But I still forgot you, and it was like I didn’t even want to think about you. Did you forget me?

[Recorder’s note: Councilors express unease at these direct questions. So does Corzon. After some debate they let her respond.]

No, I remember you. It was so long ago, I wasn’t sure I recognized you when I first saw you here but I know who you are now, I didn’t forget. I guess I should ask how are you, what are you doing now? But I can’t. I’m too busy thinking about what you just said. You felt an aversion when you thought of me, like you didn’t want to remember me. Or someone else didn’t want you to remember me. So I have to wonder, did you talk to C-10? That’s what she said in her letter, that she might have projected aversion to make people forget things. Were you interrogated by her?

[Subject responds.] Projected? Like an Empath? I’ve never been interrogated by an Empath in my life!

[I read the subject. She was shocked. She was telling the truth. Or at least she thinks so.]

©2017 Michelle M. Welch

<- Previous story: “I’ve lost so many things.”

Next story: “Do you know what kind of rumors are going around out there?” ->

All stories

Support the stories

Leave a Reply

