Stories from Refuge – 26 – “Someone’s been tampering with the records.”

Refuge: an underground city built to save people from an apocalyptic world. But how will its people save themselves? Read the stories in any order, or start with the introduction at part 1.

Reconciliation Council report A-52, statement by James 72A, submitted directly to archive
RY 100.8.6

We haven’t met since the last dialogue, Beatrice is on suspension, and there are rumors that the whole council is about to be disbanded. I’ve submitted requests to Councilor Harmon and she hasn’t responded. My requests to Councilor Booth don’t seem to have gone through. So I had to do some investigation of my own.

Someone’s been tampering with the records. I looked up the arrest and interrogation records for K.F. and S.B. and they had been edited, new records filed on top of them. I’m not that good with computers but Beatrice is, and she was able to find the old files. Kay 48C didn’t do those interrogations. Cleo did. That’s what Edward Hernand was lying about.

Then I went to Confinement and tried to talk to Cleo. I didn’t really want to do that, didn’t really want to see my old SO. I had visions of her making me kill rats again, walking all the way down there, and I wondered what she’d make me do this time. But she didn’t make me do anything. She didn’t even talk to me. She’d been sedated.

I tried to ask medical staff what was going on, if she’d started showing symptoms of paramania. No one knew. None of them were lying, either. Someone sedated Cleo because they didn’t want her to talk about what really happened during those interrogations.

So I started looking for more records. Those crime records from 18c, the charges against the rioters that Joey Cruss mentioned, the reason it was okay that everyone was either arrested or killed, I couldn’t find those at all. Someone told Cruss that information so he’d repeat it in his dialogue and the recorders wouldn’t be able to read the source of the lie.

This isn’t supposed to be happening. What’s the point of a revolution if the new government is just as corrupt as the old one?

©2016 Michelle M. Welch

<- Previous story: “You took our name away.”

Next story: “I would do anything to protect Refuge, but not at so high a price.” ->

All stories

Support the stories

