Poetry Corner

I tossed around a few ideas for this week’s post, but ultimately they all seemed too tedious to write about. So I decided to start a new category: the Poetry Corner. I don’t write poetry very often – it usually takes a pretty firm case of writer’s block, to the point that I really don’t want to write anything for, say, a month or six. But my brain gets bored without a creative outlet, so I end up changing formats. I wrote a collection of poems in July and August of 2012, a time when I was stubbornly Not Writing, and to top it all off, I was reading a lot about Buddhism and trying to wrap my brain around concepts like non-striving and no self. Here’s what came out:

Writing

it’s all striving, isn’t it?
Reaching for that one perfect sentence,
that gorgeous phrase, diamond-like
in its clarity and beauty,
that shining example of our brilliance
our genius
our dreams of admiration
our legacy
These great ideas thrown around – in words picked carefully,
pinned like butterflies –
to prove ourselves,
to prove we lived,
to prove we spoke: See,
This is what I said.

©2012 Michelle M. Welch

Leave a Reply

