Tediousness

I came close to tweeting the following the other day:

“Sometimes reading twitter is so tedious I’m glad when the dryer buzzes, just to have something else to do.”

There are many reasons to complain about social media, from shallowness to self-centeredness to juvenile behavior. But as writers we’re constantly told that we need to constantly promote, and if we’re not all over social media our careers will crash in a ball of smoke. So we dutifully get online to pitch our books, or our blogs, or our stay-in-the-public-eye thoughts. And sometimes it just gets tedious. I read too many “#free! #ebook! Read it now!!” tweets and I want to poke myself in the eye with a fork. Or, you know, do laundry.

Yes, I recognize the irony of complaining about compulsory social media on a regularly scheduled blog post. But still, I think we should all ask ourselves: Is this post/tweet/blog tedious? Am I doing it just because I feel I have to? Or do I really have something to say?

I don’t have anything else to say. I think the dryer just buzzed.

One thought on “Tediousness

Comments are closed.