Interview at Smashwords

Smashwords is doing lots of great things for indie authors, and one new feature is the author interview. Mine is now up, featuring questions like:

What do you read for pleasure?

I read a little of everything: fantasy and science fiction, of course, but also some mystery, literary, historical, and mainstream fiction, and nonfiction in various subjects…

Describe your desk

IKEA. Yes, I’m one of those people. My laptop is in the middle, an area I try to keep clear. Behind it is a shelf of reference material…

Where did you grow up, and how did this influence your writing?

I was born and raised in Tucson, Arizona. It should not be surprising that deserts and hot weather make a frequent appearance in my books…

What’s the story behind your latest book?

Not just one story, but a mashup of things. I got started reading Patrick O’Brian’s sea stories at the same time as I was reading about the history of medicine. I was also reading about Muslim cultures. I also had a character lurking in my brain who felt everything very deeply, to the point that he was almost bipolar. I was also…

Visit my Smashwords page to read more.

